Upgrade to Fedora 18 – aka Spherical Cow

Important : Below worked for me – that does not mean it will work for you and I do not accept responibity if you follow this process and make your system unusable.I always have a working backup and for me was not important will below process work or not – it worked and I write what I did.You are warned!

Fedora 18 – codename Spherical Cow, due delays is still not released,but I upgraded my laptop to Fedora 18 from Fedora 17

The process I followed was

# yum -y update;yum –releasever=18 upgrade

After issuing this,I went to prepare myself a coffee – it took a bit of time to download all stuff.After download,I rebooted and
noticed that polkit service is not running as expected

# systemctl status polkit.service
polkit.service – Authorization Manager
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/polkit.service; static)
Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Sat, 2012-11-10 14:42:38 CET; 21s ago
Docs: man:polkit(8)
Process: 6244 ExecStart=/usr/lib/polkit-1/polkitd –no-debug (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
CGroup: name=systemd:/system/polkit.service

Nov 10 14:42:38 makina systemd[1]: polkit.service: main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
Nov 10 14:42:38 makina systemd[1]: Failed to start Authorization Manager.
Nov 10 14:42:38 makina systemd[1]: Unit polkit.service entered failed state

I reinstalled it

# yum reinstall polkit

and started it

# systemctl start polkit.service

and it was there

# systemctl status polkit.service
polkit.service – Authorization Manager
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/polkit.service; static)
Active: active (running) since Sat, 2012-11-10 14:46:48 CET; 3s ago
Docs: man:polkit(8)
Main PID: 6692 (polkitd)
CGroup: name=systemd:/system/polkit.service
└ 6692 /usr/lib/polkit-1/polkitd –no-debug

I needed also to tweak VLC – luckily on rpmfusion web site

http://rpmfusion.org/Configuration/

there is already branch for Fedora 18.So you will need do download package for Fedora 18 from there and install it

# rpm -ivh rpmfusion-free-release-branched.noarch.rpm

  1. yum install vlc

Whole process went pretty smooth and I think now ( even there are delays in release ) Fedora hatters will not have to object anything.Well,there will be always someone who is not happy,but that is how it works.My first impressions on Fedora 18 are great,works excellent

Now I have

# cat /etc/redhat-release
Fedora release 18 (Spherical Cow)

Unnecessary to say it,but I will repeat it again,Fedora 18 delivers ( more / less as all Fedoras,you will find latest software first in Fedora,and by some is considered as not stable because of this ) “bleeding edge” software and all of you who like newest stuff will find something interesting it it.I could write about packages,but that would take me a lot of time to cover everything – so this part of job I am leaving up to you all.Install new Fedora 18 – test it and happy hacking

You can follow above process and update your existing Fedora 17 to Fedora 18,for those who want to install Fedora 18 for first time then go to Fedora 18 where you can download ISO images and try it